• Archpawn@lemmy.world
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    26
    ·
    4 days ago

    There’s no rule that says dead creatures can’t take action. You’ll usually become Unconscious first, but instant death effects including massive damage bypass that. So you can just keep playing.

    This was clearer in 3.5, where it actually had an entry for the Dead condition which did not say you couldn’t take actions.

      • Archpawn@lemmy.world
        link
        fedilink
        arrow-up
        6
        ·
        3 days ago

        Dogs aren’t a playable race so they can’t have class levels. But there is no rule saying dogs can’t learn languages. And they can be Sidekicks, but that’s more a rule specifically designed to allow them to play. There’s also no rule saying they can’t wield weapons. One-handed and two-handed weapons both require hands to use, but there aren’t actually any weapons listed as one-handed.